Jennifer Lopez is the 2018 VMA Vanguard Award

This year's VMA Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award will be presented to Jennifer Lopez. J-Lo appeared on an MTV Facebook livestream, and she was asked for her choices on who else should take home the lifetime achievement honor.

"Missy's a great one, 'cause her videos were always so cutting-edge," said Lopez. "Her and Gaga I think would be good ones."

There has been an online campaign to convince MTV to recognize Missy Elliott for the Vanguard. Fans of Lady Gaga have pushed for the Pop star to be given the award as well.

Past winners of the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award include LL Cool J, Beastie Boys, Hype Williams, Justin Timberlake, Beyoncé, Kanye West, Rihanna, and Pink.

The 2018 MTV Video Music Awards are scheduled for August 20. Cardi B collected the most nominations with 10. The Carters (Beyoncé and Jay-Z) earned 8 nods.

PopularMarqx: 11